« AnteriorContinua »
COUNTY OF NORFOLK,
TO CONVEY ALL THE INFORMATION
WITH THE MORE EXTENDED DETAILS OF
ANTIQUARIAN, STATISTICAL, PICTORIAL, ARCHITECTURAL,
Miscellaneous Information ;
ORIGINAL AND SELECTED.
Norfolk and Suffolk near; so named of the sites,
PRINTED BY AND FOR JOHN STACY.
SOLD BY LONGMAN, REES, ORME, BROWN, AND GREEN.
ERRATA ET CORRIGENDA.
PLUMSTEAD PARVA, page 5, for Three miles, read Five miles.
WHEATACRE, page 96, add Seventeen miles.
FORNCETT, page 103, read population of Forncett Saint Peter, 638, and Forncett
Saint Mary, 274.
THRICKBY, page 254, line 23, for R. Woolmer, read Thomas Browne.
Pages 325 to 335, for West Flegg, read Forehoe-by an unfortunate oversight, the
head-line of the preceding Hundred was retained in these eleven pages. LEZIATE, see ASHWICKEN, at page 372.
TYRINGTON, page 487, for population 2051, read Tyrington Saint Clement, 1408, and Tyrington Saint John, 583, total, 1991.
GATESHEAD, called also TATERSETE, which see at page 559.
Bacon, page 597, lines 5 and 6, for Nicholas, read Nathaniel; and see the several conflicting accounts of this amateur painter reconciled, in the Gent!'s Mag, vol. XCVI., PART I., p. 397.
WALSINGHAM, GREAT, page 599, read Great or Old Walsingham, population 413, and Little or New Walsingham, 1067.
Page 608, line 5 from bottom, in note, for its cross, read his crest.
RUSHWORTH OF RUSHFORD, page 722, for Twenty-nine miles, read Twenty-three
ROCKLAND SAINT MARY, page 758, for Fourteen miles, read Six miles.
YELVERTON, page 768, for Sixteen miles, read Six miles.
YELVERTON, page 768, read with Alpington, and for 79 read population 169.
BROOME, page 839, for population 11, read 470.
ROCKLAND TOFT, page 880, for population 267, read Rockland All Saints, 267,
and Rockland, Saint Andrew, 143, total, 410. SEDGEFORD, page 932, for Forty miles, read Thirty-eight miles.
RINGSTEAD, page 932, add Forty miles.
SCOULTON, page 995, for Twenty-seven miles, read Seventeen miles.
HOVETON, page 1385, for population 387, read 117.
HUNDRED OF NORTH GREENHOE.
THE royalties of this hundred, as also of the lordship of Wighton, are recorded in Domesday-book to be at that time in the crown, in the like manner as Edward the Confessor had possessed them. This hundred is said to have taken its name from a hill or hills, hoe, signifying in the Saxon, hill, Greenhoe or Greenhill. There are many small hills in Norfolk called hoe, but we do not find more than one so called in this hundred; and as it is in the farm of Honele Crondale, where, Parkyn says, the hundred court was formerly held, it is very probable that the court was held on the same spot that gave name to the hundred. The court of the dutchy of Lancaster is now held at Wighton. North Greenhoe is about eight miles from east to west, and seven from north to south; is bounded by the British ocean on the N., by the hundred of Brothercross on the W., has Gallow on the S., and Holt on the E.: comprehends sixteen parishes, all of which, except Cockthorpe and Field Dalling, are in the deanery of Walsingham and archdeaconry of Norfolk. The soil in general is light, but there are rich grounds in the vale through which the river runs from Snoring to Stiffkey. Marl is found in most places, and no part of Norfolk abounds more with all sorts of game. The face of the country is beautifully diversified, which cannot be seen from any place to more advantage than Great Snoring church. The prospect to the north, terminating with the ocean, is a fine finish to the landscape.
BERNEY (or Barney.) Twenty-four miles. St. Mary. P. 267. Written in Domesday-book Berlei. -The church is a single pile, and has a square tower with three bells. King Edward III., in his twenty-fourth year, gave license to appropriate this church to the priory of Binham; and Bateman, bishop of Norwich, appropriated it in 1350. The convent settled it on the sacrist, to buy candles. Here are
In the reign of the Conqueror it contained fourteen breeding mares in the woods. O O